old red

Historical Commission Projects

Planning and Development

Texas Historical MarkerThe Commission's Historical Marker Committee reviews and approves Official Texas Historical Marker applications before they are approved by the entire Commission and sent to the Texas Historical Commission for final approval. Dallas County currently has almost 300 Official Texas Historical Markers. Citizens interested in sponsoring a marker are encouraged to contact Rick Loessberg at (214) 653-7601 for an application or to download information from the links below.

Subject markers may be obtained to commemorate a historic site, neighborhood, institution, church, cemetery, event or person. Markers are also available for historic buildings and structures under the Recorded Texas Historic Landmark Program.

Examples of marker applications that have been submitted over the past several years and that have been recommended to the State for approval by the Commission are as follows:

Information about all of the existing State historical markers in Dallas County, as well as information about the area's historic cemetaries and National Register properties, is available from the Texas Historical Commission at the "Atlas" feature on its website.

Procedures, policies and costs for historical markers are determined by the Texas Historical Commission and included with the application.  For more information about Texas Historical Commission Designations, Historical Marker guidelines, and applications, click here.


The Commission also promotes historic preservation and historic appreciation through the news media, speeches and educational programs with civic groups, tourists and schools. In the past, it was a major participant in the effort to create the Sixth Floor Museum and to preserve the Old Red Courthouse, and it also spearheaded the first effort to conduct a comprehensive historic resource survey in the County since 1982.

During Spring 2011, the Commission surveyed and photographed all of the sixty-nine properties in Dallas County that had previously been designated by the Texas Historical Commission as Recorded Texas Historic Landmarks.  RTHL status is the highest historic preservation designation that the State can bestow upon a structure.

A list of the RTHL properties that the Commission surveyed in 2011 as well as photographs and the completed reports for each property follows below.

Addison Mortgage Bank Adolphus  Hotel Aldredge House
Alexander Mansion Ambassador Hotel A.H. Belo House
Ahab Bowen Home F.A. Brown Farm Home John Neely Bryan Cabin
Buckner Log Cabin Busch-Kriby Building Caruth House
Cochran Homeplace Cox House Cristler-Rodgers House
Dallas City Hall Dallas County Criminal Courts Building Dallas County Records Building
Dallas Depot/H & TC Dallas Hall Dallas Scottish Rite Temple
DeGolyer House Bill/Maude Dodson House First Baptist Church
First United Methodist Church of Cedar Hill Florence Ranch Home Galloways Old Home Place
Gen. Richard M. Gano House Gilbert House Micajah Goodwin Log Cabin
Hall of State Higginbotham-Bailey Building Higginbotham-Pearlstone Building
Highland Park Methodist Church Building Hill-Robberson House Hilton Hotel
Hord Log Cabin Interstate Forwarding Company Warehouse Joffre-Gilbert House
Lawrence Farmstead Mark/Maybelle Lemmon House Magnolia (Mobil) Building
Majestice Theatre Marcus House Miller Log Cabin
John Hickman Miller House Millermore Munger Place Methodist Church
Nance Farm Oak Cliff United Methodist Church Oates School
Old Red Courthouse Rawlins Homestead Reichenstein Home
Dr. R.A. Roberts House Dr. Frank E. Rutherford Veterinary Hospital Santa Fe Railroad Depot
Schulze House W.A. Strain Home

Robert/Marie Stubbs


Texas School Book Depository Building Trinity Methodist Church Turtle Creek Pump Station
Union Station Louis Wagner Home Wheatland Methodist Church
White Rock Pump Station Woodrow Wilson High School Winnifield House

Photographs of Surveyed RTHL Properties

Completed RTHL Survey Reports