Image Logo: Auto Citation Website

Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Training Course

You may be eligible to request that a charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course, a motorcycle operator training course, or a specialized driving safety course. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take the course.

ELIGIBILITY for Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Training Course

You are NOT eligible for this option if you answer YES to any of the following questions:

  1. Do you hold a commercial driver's license?
  2. Did you take a driving safety, a motorcycle operator training or specialized driving safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of this offense?
  3. Did this offense occur in a Construction or Maintenance Work Zone?
  4. Were you speeding 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit, or 95 mph or more?
  5. Is your ticket for an offense other than a moving traffic violation?
  6. Were you cited for not having a valid Texas Driver’s License?
  7. Were you charged with a violation of a state law related to motor vehicle traffic control, including a law regulating the operation of vehicles on highways, arising in connection with a fatal accident, i.e., improper or erratic traffic lane change or following the vehicle ahead too closely?
REQUESTING a Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Training Course

The following documents must be brought to the court in person or sent by certified mail, return receipt requested:

  • COPY OF INSURANCE COVERAGE
    Send a copy of your Insurance (Proof of Financial Responsibility in accordance with Chapter 601, Texas Transportation Code), and;
  • COPY OF DRIVER’S LICENSE
    Send a copy of your valid Texas Driver’s License
  • Original DSC AFFIDAVIT Form
    Download, read, complete, sign, and date the DSC Affidavit form, and bring it in person to this court, or send it by certified mail, return receipt requested. The form must be notarized, therefore you must sign this form before a notary public or clerk of the court.
  • MONEY ORDER or CASHIER'S CHECK FOR FEE
    Pay the Court Fee (contact the court for the fee amount);

A course must be approved by the Texas Education Agency as required under Code of Criminal Procedures § 45.0511(b)

INSTRUCTIONS after taking a Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Training Course

The following documents must be brought to the court in person or sent by certified mail, return receipt requested:

  • Original Driver's Safety Course Certificate of Completion or Motorcycle Operator Training Course Verification of Completion
    Note: A violation for No Seat Belt of a passenger 5 years or younger will require the Specialized Driving Safety Course Completion
    • To be accepted the Certificate of Completion MUST indicate "COURT COPY." The certificate must also name the court where the citation has been filed for whom you are taking the course. The Course must be taken in Texas and before the 90th day (due date on the Affidavit form).
  • Original certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety
    Obtain your certified Texas Driver’s License record from www.texas.gov as soon as possible. Be sure to indicate your correct mailing address to ensure that you receive your certified driving record. Request record type 3A.Certified List of All Accidents and Violations in Record (Type 3A): certified version of Type 3.”

ALL DOCUMENTS/ITEMS LISTED ABOVE must be submitted to the court on or before your 90th day DEADLINE (due date on the Affidavit form)

Information on Deferred Disposition:
For Eligibility requirements and forms, please contact the JP Court listed on your citation.

Forms Available for Download Format
Driving Safety Course Request Affidavit
Adobe Acrobat Required  MS-Word
Texas DPS Request Form For Driving Record
Adobe Acrobat Required  MS-Word

Contact the Webmaster