Resolution

ORDER NO. 2013-0428

DATE: March 19, 2013

STATE OF TEXAS

§ §

COUNTY OF DALLAS



BEIT REMEMBERED, at a regular meeting of the Commissioners Court of Dallas County, Texas, held on the 19th day of March, 2013 on motion made by <u>Dr. Theresa M. Daniel</u>, <u>Commissioner of Dist 1</u> and seconded by <u>Dr. Elba Garcia</u>, <u>Commissioner of Dist 4</u>, the following Resolution was adopted:

WHEREAS, The Dallas County Commissioners Court takes special notice, and acknowledges during Women's History Month, where an individual has contributed and provided exceptional service to Dallas

County; and

WHEREAS, the public celebration of women's history began in 1978 as Women's History Week and included March 8th as International Women's Day. In 1987, Congress expanded the celebration to a month and March was declared Women's History Month. This is the month we honor and publicly celebrate

women's achievements throughout the history of the United States; and

whereas, throughout the history of Dallas County, women have advocated positive change in every aspect of our society and their accomplishments continue to impact the lives of every citizen. It was in Dallas County, 1893, that the first Texas suffrage organization was formed - the Texas Equal Rights Association. In 1918, twenty-five years later, Texas women leveraged their political influence during the Governor's race, practically guaranteeing the support of women's suffrage. In 1919, Texas became the 9th state in the Union and the 1st state in the South to ratify the 19th amendment, leading the

way for other conservative states to support women's right to vote and run for office; and

WHEREAS, Women's History Month presents a remarkable opportunity to honor the tenacity and spirit of women in Dallas County while at the same time honoring three extraordinary women, among many, whose contributions make a significant difference today — Adelfa Botello Callejo, Vivian Anderson

Castleberry, and Myrtis Ophelia Evans: and

WHEREAS, Adelfa Botello Callejo, an attorney, entrepreneur, and leader within the Hispanic community, is a civil

rights advocate in Dallas County. She is the first Hispanic woman to receive a degree from SMU Dedman School of Law where the Leadership Latino Studies Institute is named in her honor. A highly respected attorney and cultural leader, she has received numerous local and national awards, honoring

her courage, foresight and commitment to democracy; and

WHEREAS, Vivian Anderson Castleberry co-founded the first women's shelter in Dallas, Texas, The Family Place, as a safe haven for women and children of abuse. As a gifted writer and award winning journalist, she

focuses on social issues and the inequality of women, both rich and poor. As the first female editor of the Dallas Times Herald, an author and advocate of moral and social reform, she continues to inspire a

generation of women and men, in particular through the Castleberry Peace Institute; and

WHEREAS, Myrtis Ophelia Evans is dedicated to ensuring the rights of citizens to vote and be involved in the political process. Over the past 45 years, she has enriched the lives of others while serving on staff

with former Dallas County Judge Garry Weber, U.S. Congressman Martin Frost, and currently, Texas State Senator Royce West. As a trusted public servant, she has a deep understanding of, and an appreciation for 'governance'. As a grassroots organizer and a viable resource in her community serving 56 years as a Precinct Chair, she continues to educate, train and model ethical leadership

critical to the democratic process; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that on behalf of the Dallas County Commissioner Court and the residents of Dallas County, we call upon all citizens to observe the month of March recognizing that we draw strength and inspiration from the women who came before us and these remarkable women who are honored here

DONE IN OPEN COURT this the 19th day of March, 2013.

John Wiley Price, District 3

ay Lewis Jenkins, County Judge Dr. Theresa M. Daniel, District

Mike Cantrell, District 2

Dr. Elba Garcia, District 4