County Government

Dallas County has a five-member Commissioners Court which adopts the county’s budget, sets its tax rate, approves its contracts and establishes the county’s policies, programs, projects, and priorities. Our Court also hires many of the county’s department heads.

Several of Dallas County’s major departments are run by elected officials (tax assessor/collector, district attorney, treasurer, county clerk, district clerk, and sheriff. In addition all the county’s judges, justices of the peace and constables are elected.

Dallas County has 81 elected officials. To help coordinate and implement the Dallas County Commissioners Court’s priorities, the Court has an appointed an individual to serve in the position of County Administrator, Darryl Martin link/contact, who directly oversees several of the County’s key administrative departments.