Alcoholic Beverages FAQ's

New Beer and Wine Permits

Q: How do I obtain an application for a new alcoholic beverage permit?
A: Applications are obtained from and processed by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. You can either mail a written request or print an application from their web site.

Local TABC Office: State TABC Office:
8200 N. Stemmons Fwy. P.O. Box 13127
Suite 460 Austin, TX 78711
Dallas, TX 75247 www.tabc.state.tx.us
214-678-4000  

Q: How does my new application get processed?
A: New applications are processed by the TABC.

Q: When will I receive my permit?
A: When TABC has completely processed your application, the original permit will be mailed to you and it must be displayed in plain view on the premises selling the alcoholic beverages.

Q: What is the cost to obtain a permit?
A: The TABC determines the cost of the permit. Please contact TABC at 214-678-4000.

Q: How does my new permit application or my renewal get processed?
A: Although an application for a new permit must be processed by TABC, the Dallas County Tax Office, 1201 Elm Street, Suite 2600, Dallas, TX 75270, will process your renewal application and issue a temporary receipt if the following have been done or are available:

Applications mailed to TABC must also conform to the above conditions.
All state, county fees and surcharges must be paid upon acceptance of the application by the Tax Office.

Beer and Wine Renewals

What forms of payment will be accepted?
A: The Dallas County Tax Office will accept cash, checks and money orders with proper identification. We also accept Master Card, Visa, Discover, American Express, Credit/Debit Cards – JP Morgan convenience fees are applicable.

Where can I renew a Beer & Wine permit?
A: Beer and wine renewals can be processed at the downtown Dallas County Tax Office between the hours of 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday - Friday.

Dallas County Tax Office
1201 Elm Street
Suite 2600
Dallas, TX 75270
214-653-7072

When can I renew a Beer & Wine permit?
A: This type of permit cannot be renewed more than 30 days in advance of the expiration date. A late fee in the amount of $100 will be added if you renew between the 1st and 30th day following the renewal date.

Is there a penalty for late renewals?
A: Yes. A late fee in the amount of $100 will be added if you renew between the 1st and 30th days following the renewal date.

What happens if I do not renew a permit?
A: If you fail to renew your permit within 30 days following your expiration date then you will be required to cease selling alcoholic beverages and you must re-file an application with TABC.

Liquor Permits

How do I obtain a Liquor Permit?
A: The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission handles the processing for all liquor licensing. You must obtain the application from TABC, complete the application and submit it along with payment of all fees and charges. When you receive the State License, contact the downtown Dallas County Tax Office to receive the County Permit:

Dallas County Tax Office
1201 Elm Street
Suite 2600
Dallas, TX 75270
214-653-7072

What is the cost for a Liquor Permit?
A: Obtain the state fees and surcharges from TABC. The TABC application fees and surcharges do not include the fees that are due to Dallas County which is ½ of the state fee.

How do I renew an existing TABC permit?
A: TABC will mail a renewal notice to you and you will receive a separate notice from the Dallas County Tax Office for county fees that will also be due.

Find and Follow Us on FB