Truancy Courts Division
County Clerk as Clerk of County Courts (Truancy):  Local Government, Rules of Civil Procedure, Civil Practices and Remedies Code

Oak Cliff Government Center - 702 E. Jefferson Boulevard, Suite #2200, Dallas, TX 75203
Phone: (972) 228-2014
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday - Friday (except for court approved holidays)

Generally, truancy cases are heard by the Justice of the Peace courts in Texas. Dallas County is the only county with specialized truancy courts. The County Clerk like the other court divisions, is responsible for maintaining the records of the truancy courts.

Truancy courts hear cases from the following school districts in Dallas County:

  • Carrollton/ Farmers Branch Independent School District
  • Cedar Hill Independent School District
  • Coppell Independent School District
  • Dallas Independent School District
  • Duncanville Independent School District
  • Garland Independent School District
  • Mesquite Independent School District
  • Richardson Independent School District
  • Richland Collegiate High School (Charter)  
  • Life School (Charter)
  • Uplift Education (Charter)
  • Trinity Basin (Charter)

TRUANT CONDUCT. (a) A child engages in truant conduct if the child is required to attend school under Section 25.085, Education Code, and fails to attend school on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same school year.

Parent Contributing to Truancy (nonattendance) - If a warning is issued as required by section 25.095 (a), the parent with criminal negligence fails to require the child to attend school as required by law, and the child has absences for the amount of time specified under Section 65.003(a), Family Code, the parent commits an offense.

Dallas County has three (3) physical Truancy Court locations, Oak Cliff Government Center, Garland Government Center and North Government Center. * North Government Center (Truancy) operates according to scheduled court hearings. Personnel rotational assistance is from the Oak Cliff and Garland Government Center.*  



Mission Statement

The mission of the Dallas County dedicated Truancy Courts is to hear cases timely and ensure consistency in disposition and enforcement of the truancy court orders.


Dallas ISDGarland ISDMesquite ISDRichardson ISD
Dallas ISDGarland ISDMesquite ISDRichardson ISD