The North Dallas Government Center at 10056 Marsh Lane, Dallas, Texas 75229 has been closed until further notice due to tornado damage from the inclement weather on Sunday, October 20, 2019.

For a list of helpful recovery resources, please click the “October 2019 Tornado Resources” link in the orange Hot Links box.

-A A A+

About Public Works

About Public Works

The Public Works Department has experienced significant growth in the last several years. This growth, brought in part by the Commissioners Court decision in FY 2000 to replace the County's traditional bond-financing approach to funding infrastructure improvements with a programmed Major Capital Improvement Program (MCIP), recently led to the creation of a new division. Today, the Department is made up of four major divisions:

The Public Works Department is run by a staff of over 70 individuals, with Alberta Blair, P.E., as Director. The Department is located on the 4th floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (the former Texas School Book Depository), at the corner of Elm and Houston Streets. Our office hours are from 7:45 AM to 4:15 PM. Monday through Friday. Our phone number is: (214) 653-7151.